top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanica Spence

Creating a Clear Vision

Updated: Dec 10, 2021

Do you think of yourself as a visionary? Can you envision and plan the future with clarity and wisdom before opportunities even present themselves? I am good at building a schedule, executing a plan, keeping my space organized, and knocking out a “To-Do” list. I can get things done, but I do not have an active imagination or a natural creativity…left brained more that right brained, apparently.

This is one reason I began asking God for a clear vision for my future. Jon (my husband) and I have been talking about our future, dreaming about new places to visit and possibly move as our children spread their wings. We’ve started discussing a five-year plan. We don’t have this plan in place yet, we’re in the beginning stages. It’s a lot of fun to dream, but when you don’t have specific direction or vision, you either stay where you are or hope for the best.

I’m entering a new season of life. Our older boys have moved into their own apartments, our youngest son is living on campus at a local university, and our very social daughter is now driving herself. My role in their lives is shifting, and I’m left asking what I want to do with the second half of my life. Maybe you have either been here or are approaching an “empty nest” season as well. If you have young children or no children, you too will experience changing seasons in your life. Our lives are constantly evolving. As we dream about our future and consider our roles and purpose in this world, we often look for a power greater than ourselves to guide and direct our steps. My husband and I began asking God for HIS vision and a fresh purpose for this season of our lives.

As I was praying and pondering these questions, I began reading the story of Elisha and his servant. In 2 Kings 6, the king of Aram sent a large army with horses and chariots to surround the city where Elisha and his servant were staying. They were sent to capture the two men. When his servant saw the size of the army he asked Elisha, “Oh sir, what will we do now?”

2 Kings 6:16-17 tells us that Elisha responded, “‘Don’t be afraid! For there are more on our side than on theirs!’ Then Elisha prayed, ‘O Lord, open his eyes and let him see!’ The Lord opened the young man’s eyes, and when he looked up, he saw that the hillside around Elisha was filled with horses and chariots of fire.”


Elisha prayed for clarity and vision for his young servant. In response, the Lord revealed his power and protection over these men. When we ask God for direction, clarity and help, He is ALWAYS there to answer our prayers. Many times, the answer doesn’t come as quickly as we’d like or in the direction that we initially thought, but He longs to fulfill His plan and purpose for our lives.


The enemy likes to “capture” us and keep us stuck. He wants us to feel fear and question God’s faithfulness and provision. This fear causes us to freeze. We can limit ourselves with self-imposed beliefs that keep us from moving toward freedom and growth. Limiting beliefs are “thoughts and opinions that one believes to be absolute truth. They tend to have a negative impact on one’s life by stopping them from moving forward and growing on a personal and professional level.” (Trello Blog, Helping teams work better, together)


After reading the story about Elisha’s prayer for his servant, I told the Lord that I wanted to be confident that the goals and desires I have for the future are HIS desires. My vision is temporal and short lived—I honestly tend to get bored or restless. I knew God’s plan would have a deeper purpose and provide a contentment and confidence that would allow Him to accomplish more in and through me than I could ever dream of doing on my own.


Within a couple hours of this prayer, I felt the Lord speak to my heart. He revealed that I was needing to be freed from self-imposed limitations (limiting beliefs) that God had not intended. Freedom from these limitations must occur before supernatural vision can be given. Wow, that was a profound word for me!


Limited beliefs can be thoughts that are taught as a young child, or ideas we’ve developed as we grow and encounter outside influences such as teachers, neighbors, friends, family and even media. These rules, restrictions, limitations we put on ourselves can keep us from growing. They can keep us from the free life that God has intended for us.


I am committed to helping people experience freedom in this life. We spend so much time and energy worrying about things we can’t control. And then we wonder why we’re so exhausted, lacking hope and joy. We also hold tight to the hurts and disappointments of the past, which stir up anger, bitterness and turmoil that also deplete us of energy, hope and joy.

God’s intention is that we would have LIFE to the fullest! He wants to do “exceedingly, abundantly more than we can ever ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20) in and through us! We block that flow when we hold onto worry, anger and incorrect beliefs.

Our thoughts and limited beliefs must change. How? I’m excited to share a few steps towards making these changes in our habits and thoughts. God wants us to flourish! In my next post, I will share tangible ways to move toward growth. We are made for MORE! If you are breathing, God has a purpose and plan for your life. Let’s move toward freedom and joy that is contagious!





89 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page