top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanica Spence

The Supernatural GPS

Updated: Apr 26, 2023

GPS is a BEAUTIFUL thing! This Global Positioning System helps me get to my destination with confidence and peace of mind. I am confident that the voice coming from this app knows which route is best, and I trust her guidance. Sometimes I question how she knows... How does Siri know there's an accident ahead or the fact that road construction is slowing down traffic? But I follow her lead because somehow she knows the quickest, safest path to follow.


We all have an inner GPS that guides us. There are moments we question if following this inner voice is in our best interest, and even times we don't listen to it. But the more you attend to this voice and pursue the guidance it gives, the easier it is to trust it's accuracy and dependability.

As Christians, we believe this inner voice (or intuition) is God. The Bible gives many examples of real people who walked this life of faith, listened to God's voice, and accomplished great things with His help. David, the "man after God's heart," gives a beautiful description of the love of our Creator and the detail with which He has planned and prepared our steps and our lives' purpose.


David writes in Psalms 139:1-4, "Lord, you know everything there is to know about me. You perceive every movement of my heart and soul, and you understand my every thought before it even enters my mind. You are intimately aware of me, Lord. You read my heart like an open book and you know all the words I'm about to speak before I even start a sentence! You know every step I will take before my journey even begins."


The beauty of God is that He doesn't just give us direction, like Siri. He cares deeply and wants the very best for you and me. He created us and knows our thoughts before we think them and our actions before we take one step.


David goes on to say, "You've gone into my future to prepare the way, and in kindness you follow behind me to spare me from the harm of my past. You have laid your hand on me! Your understanding of me brings wonder and strength."



One version of scripture describes this protection as "hemming us in." God protects us from what may come in the future and from what has happened in our past. He surrounds us and longs to lead us down the BEST path. There may be another way and it my be good or even considered "better" by some, but God knows our past, present and future and desires that we live a full and complete life...a life that finds fulfillment in things that endure.

56 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page